Arizona Beef Council

The Arizona Beef Council (ABC) is a not-for-profit organization created by the State of Arizona on August 11, 1970, with a scheduled sunset review for extension every ten years to operate in the State of Arizona. The next scheduled sunset review will be in 2026. The Council has the authority to establish a self-financed program to help develop and maintain state, national, and foreign markets for beef and beef products. 

The Council is controlled by a Board of Directors appointed by the Governor of Arizona, consisting of nine industry representatives from the cattle grower, cattle feeder, and dairy industries of Arizona. Leaders of the Arizona Cattle Growers' Association (ACGA), the Arizona Cattle Feeders' Association (ACFA), and United Dairymen of Arizona (UDA) many times serve as Council members. 

In 1985, with the passage of the Beef Promotion and Research Act (BPRA) and the Beef Promotion and Research Order (BPRO), the Arizona Beef Council was authorized to become a qualified state council (QSBC) to collect the checkoff for the Cattlemens' Beef Promotion and Research Board (CBB). QSBCs must have written procedures that ensure the proper collection of and compliance with the checkoff as prescribed by the BPRA, the BPRO, and the CBB. 

The ABC programs are financed primarily by the $1 per head assessment on sales of Arizona domestic cattle. Revenue is recognized as sales of cattle are reported to the Arizona Department of Agriculture, the ABC, or remitted to the ABC by other states. Assessments collected by the Department are remitted monthly to the Council, less a 5% administration fee. The ABC is required to contribute to the CBB fifty percent of gross fees resulting of sales of cattle. 

The ABC in-state programs focus on education, nutrition, retail, and food service promotion.